You are your child's first teacher

Our Story Publications advocates nourishing the entire child.  As part of the whole child mix, we sometimes serve up recipes for healthy parents.  Our children follow our leads, not our words.  So, nutrition, exercise, sleep and physical fitness are good ingredients for how we support everyone’s mental capacity.

This being the start of a new year, I know many parents have taken a weight loss challenge.  One of the best things that I did this year was to join Weight Watchers.  In about two weeks, I have logged in twice.  This is not a commentary on the program.  I joined during the free registration period for the three month online deal.   Given Weight Watchers offers this deal, they not only have a great weight loss program, but good market segmentation.  I am in the group that wants to get the healthy weight loss recipes with ingredients that I can find at my local Central Market.  I want an occasional reminder to drink half my body weight in water and to exercise regularly until it becomes a habit.  Plus, I have to find out the secrets behind the points system. 

The recipe secret is to simply be true to yourself and eat in moderation.  They make recipes and food combinations for regular people.  So, you can use whatever you have in your kitchen, pantry, cubbards or regularly shop for at a grocery store like Central Market go make tasty weight loss recipes.  They do not require fancy things like I had to buy when I followed the recipes of In The Kitchen With Rosie: Oprah’s Favorite Recipes.  They do not ask for fresh chervil, white pepper, shallots or dry sherry.  All of these are things one could easily find at Central Market.  But, most people do not eat like that, not even us foodies who crave fresh fruits and vegetables and whole grains and love a great recipe.  

The program offers tasty weight loss recipes.  However, let’s be real, they are still weight loss.  So, when you are used to making chocolate chip cookies using a half a stick to a stick of butter, using two table spoons of butter can leave you with a digestive feeling that something is missing.  So, at my local Central Market, I can get whole wheat flour or spelt flour to make my cookie a littler heartier and healthier.  I spice up the Weight Watcher’s South-of-the-Border Chicken Soup aka chicken tortilla soup again at Central Market.  I substitute a half cup of chipolte salsa for a cup of regular salsa.  Plus, I use a fresh tomato from the Central Market produce section instead of the canned diced tomatoes that the soup calls for.  Whola!  With the help of Central Market, I have transformed healthy weight loss recipes into a healthy tasty weight loss recipes.

Now, you might ask – what is my fascination with Central Market?  Well, I see creativity and I look for inspiration everywhere.  I understand that the more pleasurable a thing is, the more likely you will continue.  When you go to Central Market, you are greeted with fresh produce and a store full of products that are common, yet spiced up.  It is more than just a shopping trip.  It is an experience.  Cooking can be very creative and is extremely sensory.  Good smells and tastes can create memories and comfort for you and your children.  Tasty weight loss recipes can help your children develop healthy eating habits that will last them a lifetime.  I want to help you enjoy cooking and healthy eating so that you can set an example with a sustainable lifestyle change.   Experiment with ingredients that spice up your weight loss recipes.  When you go to the grocery store, pick foods your taste buds enjoy and you will maintain your healthy eating habits longer.

Leave a comment